Joy then and Joy now!


I wrote this little piece about joy over thirty years ago.  This was me as a young mother trying to define the meaning of joy while living with two pre-school aged daughters in England, away from family and friends, and married to a pilot in the Air Force who seemed to be spending more time flying than at home.  It was challenging for sure. 

True joy for me comes when I submit to God’s will for my life.  It is being faithful in the small everyday things, all the joys of being a wife and mother of two small blue eyed girls.  Joy is wiping the spaghetti sauce off a battle scarred two year old’s face.  (She bumped it on the tub while getting into the water for one of her tea parties!)  Joy is even wiping up all the water she spilled in the process.  Joy is hanging up the suit Jim plopped on the floor and remembering his strong hand in mine during prayer at church.   Joy is knowing Jesus is guiding me, even when I try to set out on my own detours.  He’s always there to lead me back, to refresh me in the knowledge that being a wife and mother are important to Him.

All these years later, I think the definition holds.  The things that matter are the eternal things.  The things done for Him with a joyful attitude.  Do I always do this?  Of course not, but that is still my goal and will continue to be until I see Him face to face.  What I wouldn’t give to be able to go back just one day and play with my girls! I would have played a lot more! Thankfully I still get to hang up the clothes Jim plops on the floor.  Somethings never change!  JOY!

Thank you Jesus for making me a wife and mother.  Thanks for showing me how to be content and allowing me the awareness of your precious Presence.

Amen

9 thoughts on “Joy then and Joy now!

  1. You had commented on my Godnfamily blog that I might enjoy your as well and I do. Well written and God driven. Sorry if I don’t respond on my blog to folks. It is an inter family bible study on a daily devotional by Zig Ziglar. Keeping my dad and I in touch. Blessing to yo and yours, Jeff

Leave a Reply

