Whistle or Whisper


Yesterday we went to a Boy Scout event where our neighbor got to race the car he and Jim built together.  It was a fun day.  I noticed that the leaders had two ways of getting the scouts (and adults) attention.  They would either hold up two fingers and quietly wait for attention, or they would let out a loud whistle.  Every time I hear a loud whistle I jump out of my skin, because when my dad whistled it usually meant we were in DEEP trouble.  His whistle usually followed my mom’s call to supper.  It meant we hadn’t come when called and he would not be happy to see us when we obeyed and came home for dinner or bed.  I decided to look and see if God uses both methods and I discovered that he does.  When He calls me next time, I hope I come running the first time!  I also hope I spend quiet time listening for his whisper.

Examples of his whistle and his whisper:

He will send a signal to distant nations far away
and whistle to those at the ends of the earth.
They will come racing toward Jerusalem. ~Isaiah 5:26 NLT

When I whistle to them, they will come running,
for I have redeemed them. ~Zechariah 10:8 NLT

And after the earthquake there was a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire there was the sound of a gentle whisper. ~1 Kings 19:12 NLT

And after the earthquake a fire; but the LORD was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice. 1Kings 19:12 KJV

“This truth was given to me in secret,
as though whispered in my ear. ~Job 4:12 NLT

Keep your heart and ears open for the call of the Savior my friends!  He has some wonderful things to tell you and me!

Leave a Reply

