My First Date


When you are as old as me, you would think it would be hard to recall your first date.  Not hard for me.  I remember it like it was a video I can watch at any time I choose.  I wore a little dotted swiss blue sun dress.  It was my birthday.  I had on a tiny gold necklace and white sandals.  He was a real gentleman, and he was very handsome.  He opened the car door for me and pulled out my chair at the restaurant.  We had a really nice dinner and then we saw a movie.  After the movie he took me to a hamburger shop for an ice cream cone.  I played a song on the music box.  He took me home and gave me a kiss goodnight on my forehead.  It was a wonderful first date.  I said it was my birthday, my tenth birthday.  The date was with my daddy.  It is one of my favorite memories.  He died a few days ago, and I am choosing to honor him by remembering precious times we shared.  This is my all time favorite.  It was just me and my dad and no one else.  We talked and laughed and he gave me the best birthday present a girl could ask for,  a dad who loved her enough to show me how a date should be.  It was 50 years ago, but I will never forget my very first date!

Leave a Reply

