Trust God, Read the Bible, and Do What it Says!


My pastor Robert Emmitt of Community Bible Church in San Antonio, TX, is one of the wisest men I know.  He makes hard things simple.  The title to this blog is his advice for living the Christian life.  When I read the Bible, his words ring in my ears, and I try my best to “do what it says”!  It isn’t easy for sure.  This is what I read today and I’m trying to do what it says:

1 Thessalonians 5:18

The Message (MSG)

Be cheerful no matter what;

pray all the time;

thank God no matter what happens.

I also read Psalm 42:11 and the last part of that passage says:

“He puts a smile on my face

He’s my God.”

How can I not be cheerful and thankful when I read something like that?  Would you like to try it with me.  Find a passage you think you should “do what it says” and then do what it says! Let me know in the comment section below this blog what verse challenges your heart to move closer to God.  Remember….Trust God, Read the Bible, Do What it Says!  Words from a wise man.  Words that can strengthen our faith and walk with our Lord!

One thought on “Trust God, Read the Bible, and Do What it Says!

  1. Liana October 27, 2012 / 7:24

    That’s great advice! For me it’s “Do everything readily and cheerfully–no bickering, no second-guessing allowed! Go out into the world uncorrupted, a breath of fresh air in this squalid and polluted society. Provide people with a glimpse of good living and of the living God. Carry the light-giving Message into the night…” Not always the easiest task, but I try my best 🙂 Great post!

Leave a Reply

