Why is the blog called Onion Blossom?


ornamental onion Stock Photo - 4919582

I wrote this piece in the early 80’s.  I was trying to express what happened in my life when Jesus found me.  I am sharing it today so you will understand why this blog is called Onion Blossom.  If you don’t know the One who helped me leave the dirt and sin and bloom, I pray you find Him.  By the way, onions do bloom!  Isn’t that awesome!

I used to be an onion, I lived in the complete darkness of a sin filled life.  I didn’t have even a concept of Light.  All the dirt, rocks, and dampness made life unbearable.  I was a sad empty onion, going nowhere.  Jesus passed my way one day, and as He did, I caught a glimpse of Light and Peace, and I hungered for more.  As I prayed in my darkness, He touched me, me an onion!  I didn’t deserve His touch, but He cared about me.  What a glorious day!  I sent up a stem to the bright warm sun and the fresh air of a brand new day.  From this stem a flower bloomed, and the flower was me!  Jesus gave me a flower all my own.  And now in Christ, I’m growing and blooming, but most of all I’m free.  Thank you Jesus for dying for me when I was only an onion!

This blog is for all the onions that don’t see a way out of the darkness.  Christ is alive and able to lift you out of your pit, and keep you out. He holds you in the palm of His Nailed scarred hand!

This is a drawing a friend drew for me when she read Onion Blossom.  It is the cover of my devotional called Onion Blossom!

Leave a Reply

