Richard


You never know how a kind deed can effect a person.  I wrote this, long before there was such a thing as a blog!  There weren’t even computers back then! I wrote it when we lived in England and I was homesick for America and my family.  I was the mother of two small children with a husband who flew fighter jets for the Air Force.  I lived in a small English village and I was isolated from my American friends and it cost to make a phone call, and gas was very expensive.  Here is the story:

I didn’t want to go to church last night.  I wanted to curl up in a dark hole and escape.  I felt insignificant and unloved.  Not unloved by Jim and the girls but a sad emptiness inside me.  But since I miss the morning worship time because I helped  in the church nursery, Jim encouraged  me go to the evening worship because he knew I needed the fellowship.

On the way to church I told God I really needed to be loved and that He would have to send someone to me, because I felt too insecure even to seek someone out.

When I got to church, I sat by a new friend and her husband and I enjoyed the service.  After church another friend I hadn’t seen in a while said hello and that was nice too.  The emptiness remained.  Just as I was about to leave, Richard, a man who is one of the ushers, came back to my seat.  Thinking he wanted my hymnals, I started to hand them to him.  He said he didn’t want the song books, he just came to tell me he loved me.  In a tender way he wrapped his arms around me and hugged me, like you’d hug a child.  He hugged me twice!  I was so shocked; I can’t even remember my response.  But I know that Jesus, through my friend Richard, touched  my heart last night.  I will hold that love in a special place to throw back at the devil the next time he lies to me.

You have to realize that Richard was British, and they are not know for displays of affection.  I was feeling a little discouraged and down this morning.  I got an email for a friend that really blessed me and was as good as the hug from Richard.  When the Holy Spirit whispers in your ear to do something for someone, please be obedient.  Richard hugged me 30 years ago, but the memory of that encounter remains in my heart even today.

4 thoughts on “Richard

  1. churchbus71andetc August 14, 2012 / 7:24

    I enjoyed this story. Reminds me of a time when I forced myself to go to church even though i was heartbroken about something in my life and really didn’t want to attend but I did and after the service a girl( she had been one of my students some years ago in school} turned around and gave me a big hug. She had never done that before. I knew at that moment that God was giving me a hug through her and what a blessing. You are right we must always be open to the Spirit’s leading and He will use us to reach out to others with just what they need.

    • karenworth August 14, 2012 / 7:24

      Thanks for sharing your story. It is wonderful to watch God work!

  2. accordingtocarey August 27, 2012 / 7:24

    What a sweet memory to carry with you always!

    • karenworth August 27, 2012 / 7:24

      It was a hug from God and yes it is precious!

Leave a Reply

