Treasure box


Some wise person told me, to save little mementos in a box, things I treasure. When I needed a lift, I was to look in the “treasure box”.  I opened it up tonight and looked through all the things I have saved over the years.  I am certain that no one on earth would find value in the things I have saved except for me.  They are special and treasured by only my heart.  These are a few of my jewels:

This is the first 10k race I ever ran.  I was very sick at the time, and thought it might be the last race I would physically be able to run.  I finished that race and I have been able, thanks to the Great Physician, to run other races and even today at age 61, I can jog!  That is a treasure!

The pictures of our dogs, Zeke and Libby, were drawn by a budding young artist by the name of Lucy Erin Toney.  She is my granddaughter.  These pictures are a few years old, but she did a great job of capturing the subject matter.  All grandmothers treasure their grandkids art!  Sweet treasure for sure!

中文: 伊扎克·帕尔曼
中文: 伊扎克·帕尔曼 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The last treasure is tickets to the Kennedy center to see Itzhak Perlman, my favorite living violinist, play my favorite classical piece, Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto.  We had great seats and the music was beyond wonderful.  I will never forget it.  That is a treasure to me.  It is good to take time to look over sweet memories and recall many of God’s blessings.  It gave me the lift I was looking for.  The true treasures are not silver and gold, or earthly valuables, they are gifts from God and special people in our lives.  My treasure box is full and overflowing! It is full because Jesus remains the best Treasure of all.  I always put Him at the top of the list!

2 thoughts on “Treasure box

  1. thestitchemporium August 27, 2012 / 7:24

    What a neat idea! I think I’ll have to start a memories box of my own 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog – it’s great to know people are reading it!

  2. jimwking August 27, 2012 / 7:24

    Very nice blog. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

