Friends in Slow Places


We have a pond up the street that belongs to our association.  It has three sections and it is very beautiful.  I like to go there and have my quiet time and feed the turtles.  There are six and I have names for all of them.  One of the bigger turtles will eat out of my hand.  The tranquil way they glide through the water and everything about them is soothing.  I even wear a turtle charm from time to time to remind me to SLOW down and remember what is most important and of course that is my relationship with God.  After my time at the pond today I decided to do a Bible search on the word “slow“.  I was caught off guard by the number of references about God being “slow to anger”.  I knew it was in the Bible, but not as many time as I found and I was surprised to find it in Exodus, Numbers, Psalms, Joel, Jonah, and Nahum.  The Bible doesn’t repeat things unless they are significant.  This must be very important.  There are also verses in James and 2 Peter, so this is HUGE!

Exodus 34:6 And he passed in front of Moses, proclaiming, “The LORD, the LORD, the compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.

Numbers 14:18 ‘The LORD is slow to anger, abounding in love and forgiving sin and rebellion

Psalm 86:15 But you, Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God,  slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.

Psalm 103:8 The LORD is compassionate and gracious,  slow to anger, abounding in love.

Psalm 145:8 The LORD is gracious and compassionate,  slow to anger and rich in love.

Joel 2:13 Rend your heart  and not your garments. Return to the LORD your God,  for he is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and abounding in love,  and he relents from sending calamity.

Jonah 4:2 He prayed to the LORD, “Isn’t this what I said, LORD, when I was still at home? That is what I tried to forestall by fleeing to Tarshish. I knew that you are a gracious and compassionate God, slow to anger and abounding in love, a God who relents from sending calamity

Nahum 1:3 The LORD is slow to anger but great in power;  the LORD will not leave the guilty unpunished. His way is in the whirlwind and the storm,  and clouds are the dust of his feet.

James 1:19   My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry,

2 Peter 3:9 The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance

I need to take me some time to ponder the meaning of these verses.  I just know that it must be important and worthy of meditation and prayerful consideration.  Like the turtles I love at the pond, I will glide around with it in my heart and mind for many days to come.  I’m glad I have friends in slow places.  I have learned a great deal from my turtle friends and their Creator!

2 thoughts on “Friends in Slow Places

  1. jimwking August 30, 2012 / 7:24

    K Excellent….you’re too good at this. J.

  2. karenworth August 30, 2012 / 7:24

    J. You are my favorite cheerleader!
    K.

Leave a Reply

