Facing a Giant with a Great God!


Sling. Copyright 2002, Eden Communications. Photographer: Paul S. Taylor.

Before David fought Goliath He remembered the times the Lord had helped him.  He protected the sheep he watched from lions and bears.  Even though they were big foes, Goliath was his biggest challenge.  By remembering how God helped him when he killed the lion and the bear, it encouraged him to fight Goliath.  When I go through a challenging time I like to remember all the times the Lord has helped me.  I wish I could say I always remember how he has been with me.  Sadly I often panic and start to stress at the battle I face.  It would be great if I remembered all the lions and bears, because there have been many, and all the victories are only because the Lord fought the battle for me. Lately the Giant I have been facing is so big and so daunting that I almost forgot how BIG God is and how much he loves me.  David ran toward Goliath, because he knew God was with him. So I am declaring to the Lord and to the Giant, the same thing David said: “All those gathered here will know that it is not by sword or spear that the LORD saves; for the battle is the LORD’s, and he will give all of you into our hands” 1 Samuel 17:45 Giant, you are going DOWN!

4 thoughts on “Facing a Giant with a Great God!

  1. judikruis September 6, 2012 / 7:24

    I’ve been hearing some similar messages Karen…You put it so very well!!! What I needed today! Charge on!

  2. karenspath September 6, 2012 / 7:24

    I love this reminder to be brave and to stand up and be counted. If ever there was a time when we need to stand up and be counted, it is now. Whether it is personal problems or whatever, it is definitely a great thing to remember that God is on our side and that in him we can do anything! Love your blog!

  3. the blogging disciple September 6, 2012 / 7:24

    Remember, when we cannot see the horizon, He can.

    I pray on your behalf, that the One who laid the very foundations of the Universe, shake hard the foundations of your enemy, and deliver you.

    “But thou, O LORD, art a shield for Karen; Karen’s glory, and the lifter up of her head.” Psalm3:3 (KJV w/ pronoun edit)

    God bless you my friend. 😉 Peace.

Leave a Reply

