Names that end in “Y”


No one and I repeat, no one is allowed to call my husband Jimmy, except for me.  He goes by Jim.  When someone calls and asks for James, we instantly know they are selling something.  I don’t always call him Jimmy, but it is my special name for him.  I added a photo of him as a little boy and you will understand why I love to call him Jimmy.  He was a very cute little boy.  The other day I realized that I like names that end with a “y” or  “ie”.  I call my daughter Dawn, Dawny occasionally, although it is not a name she appreciates, it is precious to me, because she is my Dawny Girl, even though she is a mom of an 9 year old.  Times flies!  We named Andi, Andrea just so we could call her Andi.  We loved the name Andi and it fits her.  My granddaughter’s name is Lucy and I suggested the name because one of my former students had an adorable sister named Lucy and even before we knew she was a girl, I “put my request in” for a little girl named Lucy.  It is not short for anything, her name is Lucy, although we do call her Lu occasionally.  I called my parents Mommy and Daddy.  My dog’s name is Libby and we call her brother Zeke, Zekie Boy quite often.  It would be hard to add a “y” to Karen, but when I worked in a pharmacy from my senior year in high school through college, my boss nicknamed me Katy since my initials were KT (Karen Taylor back then).  I liked that name a lot.  I guess it’s the “y”! They say when you go to heaven you get a new name. Of course we don’t get to choose that name and I would never tell God what to do but I hope my new name ends with a “y”!

10 thoughts on “Names that end in “Y”

  1. karenworth September 8, 2012 / 7:24

    And I’ll bet she is the best cat ever! LOL!

  2. Looking Out The Window September 8, 2012 / 7:24

    Y treatment of names is a family adjustment that happens in my family too. I had not though much about it until you blogged about it.

  3. karenworth September 8, 2012 / 7:24

    Thanks for reading and commenting. I really appreciate it!

  4. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman September 9, 2012 / 7:24

    I never thought of it but as I guess our family is the same way, but then most nice names do end in “y” Blessings – Patty ;D

  5. jennsmidlifecrisis September 9, 2012 / 7:24

    I’m glad you like it…I get called Jenny sometimes…and I don’t like it! 🙂 I just noticed you have a card blog – I’m a stamper/cardmaker too! I’m a Stampin’ Up! demonstrator (starting my 3rd year) but I started creating and teaching a loooong time. Very cool! 🙂

  6. karenworth September 9, 2012 / 7:24

    I am not a pro at card making like you, but I have loads of fun!

  7. judikruis September 10, 2012 / 7:24

    when I was young grandma put …ie on the end of all names. judie, scottie, pattie…..

Leave a Reply

