On Callouses


“He heals the brokenhearted, binding up their wounds.”

Psalm 147:3 LB

Years ago I met a man with a heavy burden, his close friend had committed suicide.  As I talked with this man, he began to share how he coped with hurtful experiences.  He said that he placed a callous around his heart each time he got hurt, making it harder to get hurt the next time around.  I didn’t agree, and tried to share Jesus’ way of dealing with hurts.

In an effort to explain and comfort, I wrote this poem and gave it to him.

Walls of introversion,

Wrapped your heart about,

Can’t let love in,

Can’t let love out.

This story has a happy ending, this man isn’t building callouses anymore, I should know, he’s my husband Jim.  I helped hin through the suicide of his friend, and he helped me when my own brother took his life. Jesus, help me to remember that you heal little, as well as big hurts, if we only lay them at your feet. I don’t want to build up walls around my heart that might keep you and your healing love out of my life.  Your healing oil is so soothing and comforting.  Thank you for caring for my hurts in such a tender way. I know I’m like a child with lots of boo boos.  Thank you for being patient and for mercy and grace that I don’t deserve! I haven’t forgotten that is is by Your stripes we are healed!

4 thoughts on “On Callouses

  1. MichaelGreshaw September 11, 2012 / 7:24

    Very well written. I completely agree with you about the healing power of Jesus. He has done a wonderful work for me, I am glad he has done one of you 2 as well. Be blessed!

  2. Brook October 4, 2012 / 7:24

    *Wonderful love story* of how God worked and healed.

    • karenworth October 4, 2012 / 7:24

      Yes and the love story just celebrated 39 years a few days ago. God is amazing!

Leave a Reply

