Drought


This is not a picture of a magnificent water fall.  It is the drainage ditch by our house.  You see we had something very unusual happen here in our area today….RAIN!  We have been in Stage 2 water restriction and when it is as hot as it is here in Texas, the sun dries things out quickly.  So rain came for the second time this weekend.  The first rain happened when we were trying to walk the dogs.  We didn’t even mind getting soaked.  It made us so happy and refreshed us and the trees and grass.  This year has been hard weather wise and it has been hard for me personally.  My father died and my mom has been in and out of the hospital 4 times since April.  When I saw the rain it gave me hope, hope that things will improve and I will see the earth and my heart began to blossom and rejoice in the refreshing rain.  Even in the drought He has been good to me.  Each day He has been close by my side.  I don’t need the rain to encourage my heart, but it sure does help.  I rejoiced over each drop, because I know the Giver of All Good Things! The Word comes to our hearts in two forms, rain and snow.  The rain instantly waters, the snow takes time to melt before it nourishes the land.  I am thankful for both forms!

Isaiah 55:10-11

New International Version (NIV)

 As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish,so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,

so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

7 thoughts on “Drought

  1. karenspath September 17, 2012 / 7:24

    Love the message of hope. Love the beauty you found close to home!

    • karenworth September 17, 2012 / 7:24

      There is beauty every where isn’t there! Thanks for the comment!

  2. rcwriter September 17, 2012 / 7:24

    We’ve been in drought conditions ourselves, but it’s been raining most of the night. Today is one of those couch and blankie days. I so wish I could just go back to bed. Enjoy your blessing.

  3. littleladybugcreations September 17, 2012 / 7:24

    I love your blog! It’s so peaceful and encouraging. And thanks for coming to visit mine. I really appreciate it!

  4. judikruis September 18, 2012 / 7:24

    Drought in nature and personal – we hang on to any HOPE we can. He shows us. Isaiah section I was reading and being filled with last night. Peace to you and yours Karen.

Leave a Reply

