Don’t steal my figs!


I grew up mainly in the country.  We moved to Amarillo when I was in the seventh grade.  I was not a fan of the bigger school or city. I was happy when we moved back home to San Marcos.   As a kid, we raised dogs, cats,chickens, a pig named Linda, a sheep named Betty,  and a Shetland pony named Stormy and there was lots of wild life to observe out in the hill country of south-central  Texas  When five years ago, Jim and I moved back to Texas, we thought we were getting a “garden home” but we moved to the “wild kingdom”  instead! We have seen squirrels,  coyotes, skunks, raccoons, snakes, and opossums at our “garden”  home!  I was okay with all the opossums we had in our back yard until they began to eat all my figs at the moment they became ripe.  That ticked me off.  One night when Libby, our smallest Yorkie, cornered one on the back gate, I grabbed my gardening gloves and an empty trash can.  I reached out and caught that thief by the tail, plopped him in the trash can, and put a lid on it.  I think I surprised Jim! We drove the fig thief to another location.   I didn’t want to kill him, just ask him to go eat someone else’s figs! I can’t remember how many opossums we captured, but between the catch em’ alive trap, and my trash can, it was a lot!  (On a side note, Fig Newtons are great opossum bait!) I think we should have painted numbers on their backs.  Now opossums have 50 teeth and make a hissing sound when you grab them by the tail. Our pest control guy was surprised to hear that I grabbed them by their tails.  He asked me if I knew how many teeth they have!    It can be frightening if you didn’t have something to protect yourself, like my gloves.  There is a verse in God’s word that describes an enemy that has teeth.

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:  1 Peter 5:8-9 KJV

Satan would like to scare us and keep us afraid of everything.  We have something to protect us from him too, God’s Word and our salvation.  We don’t fight him though, Jesus has already won that battle on our behalf.  I just saw the first figs on my trees and in a few months I will have some visitors.  I have  enough trees now that I don’t mind sharing!  I refuse to give anything to Satan though, especially my JOY!

6 thoughts on “Don’t steal my figs!

  1. tales2apoint September 19, 2012 / 7:24

    Amen, Amen, Amen!

    You’re brave, by the way! I’ve cornered an opossum or two, and never even thought about picking them up. Against popular opinion, I’m wondering if the opossums in TX are actually SMALLER than they are in Indiana! Haha…

    • karenworth September 19, 2012 / 7:24

      Every thing is bigger in Texas! LOL!

  2. Steven S. Walsky September 19, 2012 / 7:24

    When had moved into a 100 year old house that had fig trees that were days away from being ripe to pick. Soon there was a knock on the door, and we were informed that it was a very long standing tradition for the neighborhood women to pick them…’how could you, pick them before we arrived?’ It was not us, but the chipmunks, squirrels, rabbits, and birds, etc.. True to the proverb: the early birds got the figs.

  3. simplyjuliana September 19, 2012 / 7:24

    I cannot believe you picked that thing up! LOL! I could just see it in my mind! Girl, I love your blog…I could literally sit and read it all day if I had the time! Love the analogy…you always bless me! Make sure those gloves have some steel in them! 🙂

  4. karenworth September 19, 2012 / 7:24

    Thanks! I appreciate you stopping by!

Leave a Reply

