No Fear


I grew up in a house of fear.  It wasn’t so much I was afraid of my parents, although you didn’t back talk in our house, know what I mean!  No I grew up in a house of fear because my parents were afraid of a multitude of things and I soaked up each fear they had and added to the list like a dry sponge.  These are a few of my fears:

Storms of any kind

Elevators

Flying

Heights

Okay this list is long enough.  You get the idea.  Well I found the antidote to my fear.  It was two fold.  I married a pilot, who loved thunderstorms, and elevators, and encouraged me to stop and look at these fears in the light of day and in the light of God’s love.  My God slowly and lovingly took each fear, and the list was HUGE, away.  It took years, but He did it! Because God took those fears away I was able to watch my husband refluel his jet in the air, while I laid in the back of a Tanker aircraft.  It was amazing! This is a picture Jim has on his desk of me the day I watched him refuel.  See that smile!   No Fear!

I lived in Turkey and the elevators stopped working occasionally and I still rode in them.  I loved the experience of living there.  It was two of the best years of my life!  I  don’t have a picture of me in an elevator.  Sorry! No fear!  I had to take a big test to be certified to teach school.  I started my career later in life because I stayed home with my daughters until my oldest went to college.  That test almost stopped my teaching career, but thanks to Jim posting equations, and formulas all over the house, along with much prayer, I passed and had a great career in teaching.    Again, another picture Jim has on his desk, me teaching! No Fear!

I was afraid of sailing in the ocean, but you guessed it, I did that too!  Again, another picture Jim has on his desk.  No fear!

I could go on and on, but then you would see how messed up I was!  :0) This summer I let go of a bucket load of silly fears.  I flew to Washington state and rented a car, and drove 2 1/2 hours by myself (not really alone, Jesus was beside me) to see my daughter and granddaughter!  No Fear! Did you notice that my examples of overcoming fear were displayed on my husband’s desk. I think they are there because he likes me….and to remind me of how big my God is!  Each time I dust I think…. No Fear!

1 John 4:18
There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear.

3 thoughts on “No Fear

  1. tales2apoint September 27, 2012 / 7:24

    OK…we need to stop doing this! I just posted about overcoming fear too…Your “overcoming fear” stories gave me chills. God is so good. What a gift He gives through our spouses!

  2. karenworth September 27, 2012 / 7:24

    I know, must be the Holy Spirit wanted to get the message out! NO FEAR ALLOWED! :0)

  3. princeprolific October 1, 2012 / 7:24

    I remember the story of a man who told his doctor that his problem was running up hills.
    The wise doctor counselled him:’Run up hills.’
    You have done exactly that. It is truly the secret of overcoming our fears: confront your fear. So long as it is not sinful, challenge that fear and you will overcome.

Leave a Reply

