He was waiting for ME!


When I was a Senior in college at Southwest Texas State University,  I decided to give up on men and concentrate on my teaching career.  I had dated a few losers and was burned out.  I had also become a Christian and found myself moving in another direction.  I had taken all my required subjects except student teaching, so I needed a few electives to complete my degree in Elementary Education.  At the time I was living at my home in San Marcos, Texas with my parents.  I also worked part-time at a pharmacy to make enough money to pay tuition and buy necessities.  Anyway, since I needed some electives, I was sprawled out on the living room floor of my parents home, looking at the college catalog for the fall semester.  I was having a hard time picking anything interesting and EASY!  My mom said, “Take sociology, I enjoyed that class.” It sounded hard and I was concerned as a new Christian, if it would jive with my new faith.  Because I couldn’t find anything else that fit into my schedule, I signed up for Sociology 101.  I sat on the front row to help me try to focus.  I was anxious about this class.  A cute guy sat beside me, but remember, I was off boys!  One day in class, several weeks into the semester, the cute guy beside me got a note to call home ASAP.  He lived in California.  (Okay I had talked to him some!)  That evening I called his dorm room and spoke to him.  He told me everything was okay and thanked me for checking on him.  The next time that class met the professor didn’t show, so the guy and I walked out together and chatted for quite a while.  He didn’t tell me why he got the note to call home, but I could tell it was bothering him.  I told him a little about Jesus and my new faith.  He told me he might call me that weekend.  I told him my number.  Well that weekend, we had a terrible ice storm and we lost power and phone service.  The guy didn’t call me and I was a tiny bit disappointed.  Okay, a lot disappointed!  This guy and I usually saw each other on MWF as I walked out of my psychology class and he walked into his criminal justice class.  There was a guy in my psychology class who had my class and the cute guy’s class that followed mine.  He stood up on that Monday and started leaving the class. I asked him why he was leaving and he said they weren’t having their criminal justice class that day.  I was bummed because that meant I wouldn’t see the cute guy.  As I walked out the door of my class I looked down the stairs and there he was, the cute guy.  He was standing there waiting for someone.  He was waiting for me!!!!!!  Our eyes met, the heavens opened, my heart started thumping out of my chest and in an instant I knew, I’m in love, I’m a believer in love! The cute guy asked me to go have lunch with him.  Today, September 28th , we celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary.  I love him more than ever.  I can still see in my mind him standing at the bottom of the stairs that day in December of 1972.  I see it like a video.  It is the day my life began!  I love you Jim Worth!  I love you more than words! Happy Anniversary! Thank you God for giving me a wonderful husband.  I know your hand picked him for me!

12 thoughts on “He was waiting for ME!

  1. tales2apoint September 28, 2012 / 7:24

    When you start to get excited in your storytelling, sometimes you forget punctuation! 🙂 I love the passion with which you recount God’s working in your life. Just thought I’d offer that insight in case you were up for accepting constructive you-know-what. Trust me, I’d love to get more feedback on my writing too, in case you’d ever want to return the “favor.” Have a great Friday!

  2. Steven S. Walsky September 28, 2012 / 7:24

    Happy anniversary.

  3. Steven S. Walsky September 28, 2012 / 7:24

    Reblogged this on Simplicity Lane and commented:
    This is a wonderful story!

    • Steven S. Walsky September 28, 2012 / 7:24

      I have also posted a note on ‘Words to Love By’ that today’s post was reblogged on my blog ‘Simplicity Lane’ (WordPress seems to want to reblog on only on Simplicity Lane).

      • karenworth September 28, 2012 / 7:24

        Thanks Steven.

  4. *flowerchild* September 28, 2012 / 7:24

    love this. I am jealous in all the right ways. God bless you both.

  5. angillcards September 29, 2012 / 7:24

    I loved reading the story of You Two. Happy anniversary. May you continue to bring rich blessings to each other every day.

  6. Becky Stout September 29, 2012 / 7:24

    Sweet! Happy Anniversary! I hope you had a wonderful day, and many more wonderful years together!

  7. artzent October 16, 2012 / 7:24

    Be still my heart! This was a wonderful story!

    • karenworth October 16, 2012 / 7:24

      It is still a love story, 40 years later!

Leave a Reply

