One at a Time


I wrote this a long time ago, but it was a good reminder to me today.

“For God is at work within you: helping you to obey him, and then helping you to do what he wants.”  Philipians2:13 NLT

I told my two year old to pick up the pile of books she was reading and immediately she began to cry, “They’re too HEAVY Mom!”  In suitable mother like fashion I replied, “Pick them up one at a time.”  Just as the words left my mouth the Spirit gently chided me.  So many times the Lord says do this or do that, and I reply, “Lord, I can’t!”  Like Peter walking on the water, I look at the waves.  I panic at the circumstances that seem to be much bigger than me.  If I stop and listen to the Lord’s voice, I can hear his wise words, “Don’t look at the whole ocean, take one step at a time and fix your eyes on me.”

Lord Jesus, you know not only my physical weaknesses, but also my spiritual ones as well.  Help me to remember that you won’t give me more than I can carry, and when the situation looks too HEAVY, remind me again Lord, “pick them up one at a time”.

[Picture: Holman's Holy Bible, 1875 edition]

2 thoughts on “One at a Time

  1. beegee10 September 29, 2012 / 7:24

    great reminder!! I love how the “little ones” teach us such spiritual lessons

Leave a Reply

