Rhythms of Grace


On June 20th, I went to the turtle pond like I do most mornings, to sip my tea, read the Bible, pray, and feed some greedy turtles.  I cherish my time with God at this tranquil spot.  On this particular morning the passage I read was from Matthew 11:28-30 in The Message.  I love reading from that translation.  This is what I read on June 20th.

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

Since June 20th, I have been trying to learn the unforced rhythms of grace.  This past spring and summer were hard ones in my life.  I needed God to step in and be my Everything, and He did just that!

This is one of the ways he worked in my heart.

Ephesians 3:20-21
God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.

I have found that by His Grace and Love He has begun to change my heart to hunger for Him.  This is why I named this blog, Rhythms of Grace.  It is a daily process that I expect to continue until He returns, or He takes me Home.  Thanks for sharing this journey with me.  I value each person who reads and encourages and prays. I have seen many answers to prayer since June 20th.  My biggest request has not happened yet, but I trust Him with it.  I know He heard my heart, and I know His timing will be perfect.  I hope that you will find Him if you don’t already know Him.  I pray that you get lost in the unforced rhythms of Grace, living freely and lightly!

3 thoughts on “Rhythms of Grace

  1. tales2apoint October 2, 2012 / 7:24

    Thanks for sharing, Karen. The title of your blog was one of the first things that stuck out to me about your passionate heart for the Father. He is such a gracious Savior! I will keep you in prayer as I read your posts each day. They are slowly becoming part of my time with Him, as they point me to all the incredible ways He works in lives. Your knack for pulling insight from little everyday things is opening my eyes to how the Lord is working similarly in my life. So glad I found your blog and can share in part in the rhythms of His grace in your life. I pray your love for Him will be as contagious outside of cyberspace as it is here on your blog!

  2. karenworth October 2, 2012 / 7:24

    I find that the bloggers on WordPress like you, are so encouraging! Thanks for taking time to comment. It encouaged my heart more than you will ever know!

  3. simplyjuliana December 1, 2012 / 7:24

    I am waiting on your book! I do believe you are one of my favorite authors of all time!! Blessings! Juliana

Leave a Reply

