Grace, Grace to it!


Image of Tihu an 1799 meters height mountain peak

I  have been reading a wonderful book on Grace and in the process have discovered something that has really encouraged my heart.  I found it all in the book of Zechariah.  During that time in history Jerusalem was a mess.  Everything had been destroyed.  Thanks to the obedience of Nehemiah, the walls had been rebuilt.  The temple and the homes were still in ruins.  The people were weary and didn’t have the heart to rebuild the temple.  The prophet Haggai had tried to inspire them to rebuild it, but he failed.  The governor at the time was Zerubbabel and he was depending on the encouragement of the prophets to help him get the task of building the temple underway.  After Haggai, God sent Zechariah.  He was just the prophet the people needed.  Sometimes in the Old Testament we have a hard time understanding the meaning of passages.  I often think I could use Beth Moore on speed dial but in Zechariah 4:6-7 an angel explains the meaning clearly to Zerubbabel who needed hope.  I am a woman in serious need of hope at the moment, so my heart leapt with excitement when I read what the angel shared. Zechariah 4:6-7 NAS

Then he  said to me, “This is the word of the LORD to  Zerubbabel saying, ‘Not by might nor by power, but by My  Spirit,’ says the LORD of hosts.  ‘What are you, O great  mountain? Before Zerubbabel you will become a plain; and he will bring forth the top stone with  shouts of “Grace, grace to it!”’”

The angel was telling Zerubbabel that the temple would be rebuilt and God would do it in his might and power.  He just had to trust and wait for God to accomplish it.  The “mountain” was the daunting task of rebuilding.  God would remove the obstacles in the way of building the temple and when it was done all the people would shout Grace! Sometimes I try to fix the circumstances that are destroyed in my life in my own power.  I know I need God, but I try to help Him out.  Get how silly that is in light of these verses.  Last night I was able to just fix my heart and eyes on Jesus and trust Him with the things that are so heavy on my heart that I feel like it might shatter to pieces.  It gave me hope and even though I had heard the verse before, it was fresh and perfect for my situation.  It was more than a lifeboat, it was a helicopter.  It lifted me out of my raging stormy sea.  I don’t know if you the reader will get anything out of this, but I just had to share it.  When my prayer requests are answered, and they will be, you will hear me shouting , Grace, Grace to it!

9 thoughts on “Grace, Grace to it!

  1. jennsmidlifecrisis October 5, 2012 / 7:24

    There are many amazing “nuggets” in the minor prophets. I love the end of Habakkuk – he knows that tough times are ahead and he chooses to acknowledge God’s sovereignty and ability to strengthen him, and like a deer, climb above them. Keep looking up!

  2. karenworth October 5, 2012 / 7:24

    Exactly! You are so right! Thanks!

  3. icanseealight October 5, 2012 / 7:24

    Great post, really speaks to me where I am right now. Thanks!

  4. judikruis October 5, 2012 / 7:24

    He does bring us the words He knows we need each day. These ones are truly gems! Thanks for sharing Karen.

  5. karenworth October 5, 2012 / 7:24

    Thanks for dropping by dear blogging buddy! :0)

  6. Brook October 5, 2012 / 7:24

    *Thank you* for sharing hope. This is wonderful and so needful to me right now because of certain painful circumstances. You through Zechariah have reminded that it’s *God’s Spirit* that turns the mountains into plains. *Thank you* again for sharing this with us and the hope of Grace, grace!

  7. karenworth October 5, 2012 / 7:24

    I am thankful it helped. God is so faithful

Leave a Reply

