Follow me!


I wrote this some time back.  My father passed away in January.  I dedicate this blog to his memory.  The photo is actually my dad leading me on the family ranch years ago.  He was a real John Wayne kind of man. 

When I was a little girl, occasionally my dad would take me hunting with him. Sounds sweet and fun right?  Sort of….he was not the warm fuzzy dad for the most part.  He would say this as we started to walk (I use the word walk loosely) through the dense Texas hill country vegetation, “Follow me and STEP WHERE I STEP!” That is easier said than done when your legs are short and there are limbs flying and hitting you in the face.  It is dark and he has the only light source and we are chasing a pack of hounds!  I need to also explain that I was the shortest girl in my class at school from first grade through the eighth grade.  I was also totally a girly girl, not an outdoor type at all! I didn’t want my dad to think I was sissy, but I was a big old sissy!  Why was I out there?  I wanted to be with my dad and hunting or working were about all the man did, so if I wanted to be with him, this was the opportunity.   Ah the fond memories of childhood! Get where I am going with this?  Jesus said the same thing to me this morning.  “Follow me child, we are in dense woods and I am the only light source, but trust me my child, follow me and we will get there together!  I will lead you!” So I grabbed His nail scarred hand and we are moving through the night together.  I look forward to getting to that promised campfire and fireflies and the sounds of dogs chasing a critter through the woods.  A place I can sit and not be scared of what could be out there in the night that I don’t want to encounter alone. I trusted Daddy back then, but I trust Jesus even more.  My legs are a little longer now and the night doesn’t scare me as much.  Jesus has a great flashlight so I follow Him and I try my very best to stay on the narrow road and to step where He steps.

7 thoughts on “Follow me!

  1. neongreenmilk October 8, 2012 / 7:24

    Hey. I’m an MK living in Japan trying to start a blog. Hopefully some day I will also be successful. Who knows?

    • karenworth October 8, 2012 / 7:24

      What would green milk taste like? I am curious!

  2. Anna October 8, 2012 / 7:24

    What a beautiful analogy!

    • karenworth October 8, 2012 / 7:24

      Thanks for reading and responding!

  3. karenspath October 8, 2012 / 7:24

    I love this. What a great testimony of love for your father. Love your blog!

  4. missannsays October 9, 2012 / 7:24

    just what I needed today. thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

