Sweet smells


I got a hug from a precious friend today.  She had on a lovely perfume and her scent stayed on my clothing long after our hug.  It reminded me for the rest of the afternoon of our friendship.  It was comforting and warm. Each time I caught a whiff of the perfume it also reminded me of Bible verses about perfume.

And walk in love, as Christ also hath loved us, and hath given himself for us an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweetsmelling savour. ~Ephesians 5:2 KJV

This shows me that God has opinions about smells too.  He likes certain offerings.  He thought the offering His Son made on our behalf was precious and good.  I want my life to smell good to God.  I want it to be a fragrance he enjoys and remembers long after the act is complete. In Philippians we see another example of a good sacrifice:

But I have all, and abound: I am full, having received of Epaphroditus the things which were sent from you, an odour of a sweet smell, a sacrifice acceptable, wellpleasing to God. ~Phillipians 4:18 KJV

This is Paul thanking fellow Christians for the things they sent him in prison.  So I pray dear Lord that my life would be pleasing in your sight and a pleasing fragrance.  Thanks for creating our noses to smell the wonderful things in Your world, coffee, flowers, apple pie, and the fragrance of a new baby.  You do all things well Lord!

3 thoughts on “Sweet smells

  1. sidebysideblog October 12, 2012 / 7:24

    I love the verse from 2 Cor.2:15 For we are to God the aroma of Christ. I love the idea that God breathes us in that our lives smell good to HIm because of what Christ has done in us. Great Blog. Thank you, Catherine from Australia xox

Leave a Reply

