Sharing Communion


We had communion today at church.  The Middle school choir led worship and it was so good.  I love hearing them and I love communion.  That made church today a home run!  Jim and I have been married for 39 years.  Our relationship is something God put together.  I don’t recall how this tradition started.  We never saw anyone else do it.  We rarely tell anyone about it either.  This is it.  This is what we do!  When the wafers come by, we take and  eat it when we are told.  When the juice comes, Jim takes a cup and I do not.  No I am not allergic to grape juice.  We began many years ago, sharing the cup between us.  He drinks first and I drink second.  It doesn’t lessen the significance of what the cup stands for.  I know the price Jesus paid for our sin.  Sharing the cup with Jim shows our unity in Christ in a special way.  Thank you Lord for communion and for my husband. I look forward to sharing communion with Jesus in heaven one day.  Until heaven I will share my cup with Jim. The photo below is Jim holding my hand.  Another tradition.  When there is prayer over a meal, or during a service, we always hold hands.  Our hands are older but they fit together perfectly.

6 thoughts on “Sharing Communion

  1. Steven S. Walsky October 15, 2012 / 7:24

    Very nice traditions.

  2. May Your Soul Stir October 16, 2012 / 7:24

    To walk together in faith…oh so special! I hope to have that someday! You are blessed.

Leave a Reply

