Wishing


When I was a girl we made wishes on many things.  You could wish on an eye lash.  The person not guessing would hold the eye lash between the thumb and the pointer finger and say, “Make a wish!” If you guessed thumb and the lash was on the thumb when the non-guesser opened his/her fingers, you got your wish. You could choose the finger if you thought the lash might end up there.

But you could NEVER tell anyone your wish, or it would not come true!  You could also blow on a dandelion flower and if all the seeds blew away in one blow, you guessed it, you got your wish.  But once again you could not tell anyone your wish. You could throw a penny in a wish well or fountain and make a wish.  You could pull the wishbone from the Thanksgiving turkey, but I can’t recall who won, the big part or the little part of the wishbone.

You could also make a wish on your birthday candles,

and the first star you saw each night.

Star light

Star bright

First star I see tonight

I wish I may

I wish I might

Have this wish

I wish tonight!

I don’t remember if any of my wishes came true.  Most were silly, immature dreams of a little girl.  I have learned as I have grown up, that wishes are not the best choice for getting what you want.  The best way is to trust in Jesus and talk to him about the things you need.  The closer you get to Him, the more likely the things you want will be things He wants to give you.  Prayer is a lot better than eye lashes and candles.

Philippians 4:6 NIV
Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

God is not an Aladdin’s lamp, but He Hears our prayers.  Wishes are fun, but prayer works!

1 Peter 3:12 NIV
For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous  and his ears are attentive to their prayer…

If you have a prayer need you would like me to pray about, feel free to leave it in the comment box, and I will pray for you.  I can’t promise instant results, but I know He listens when we pray!

4 thoughts on “Wishing

  1. tales2apoint October 17, 2012 / 7:24

    My wife watches a baby for a family, and is about to start watching another. Pray that she can have a godly influence in the lives of these families! Also, we recently found out that the taxes on her income are going to be much higher than we expected. She sought to raise her rates to help make up the difference, and the family said if her rates raised they would go elsewhere. Please pray that the Lord would sort this out as He sees best. We have a low income and are trying to save up to start a family of our own, but we know the Lord will provide. Thanks Karen! Is there any way we can be praying for you?

    • karenworth October 17, 2012 / 7:24

      I will be praying for this need. God does provide our needs! Thanks for sharing your request!

  2. Rhonda Sittig October 18, 2012 / 7:24

    Love this. Look forward to reading more of your blog…

Leave a Reply

