Giving Thanks


We are reading the book of John in Bible study.  We have no curriculum.  We are just reading the Bible and seeing what God has to say to us individually.  I love this form of study.  Today I found something that jumped off the page, which usually means God is sharing something with my heart.  Heart to heart, He speaks a bit of Truth just for me.  Not that I am special, He will do it for anyone, any time!  I noticed that Jesus would communicate with His Father.  I also noticed that many times He gave thanks to God.  Like this example:

John 11:41 (NIV)

So they took away the stone. Then Jesus looked up and said, “Father, I thank you that you have heard me”.

This is what Jesus said to His Father when He brought Lazarus back to life.  Another example is:

John 6:11 (NIV)

Jesus then took the loaves, gave thanks, and distributed to those who were seated as much as they wanted .  He did the same with the fish.

These are just two examples from John.  If our Lord and Savior Jesus needed to thank God, don’t we need to do the same.  I find the more I thank Him, the closer I feel to Him.  One way you might like to start is by keeping a journal where you list things you are grateful for.  It pleases Him and increases our faith.  Giving a simple grace at meals is also a way to offer thanks.  We need to bless our food more often than Thanksgiving! Jesus is our best example of daily living at it’s best.  Thank you Jesus for this opportunity to share this little blessing with these wonderful friends and readers.

7 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. jennsmidlifecrisis October 29, 2012 / 7:24

    I’m currently reading John too – I love reading all the stories. It’s like visiting dear friends from Sunday School, and I feel young again!

  2. karenworth October 29, 2012 / 7:24

    It is the first book I read when Jesus found me! Love it!

  3. Rhonda Sittig October 30, 2012 / 7:24

    Thanks to you for the reminder. Thanksgiving puts a lot else in perspective…

Leave a Reply

