God’s friend Moses


I think the relationship between God and Moses is one of my favorites from God’s Word.  Today I read some verses that encouraged my heart.  Hope it does the same for yours.

Exodus 33:12-17

The Message

Moses said to God, “Look, you tell me, ‘Lead this people,’ but you don’t let me know whom you’re going to send with me. You tell me, ‘I know you well and you are special to me.’ If I am so special to you, let me in on your plans. That way, I will continue being special to you. Don’t forget, this is your people, your responsibility.”

God said, “My presence will go with you. I’ll see the journey to the end.”

Moses said, “If your presence doesn’t take the lead here, call this trip off right now. How else will it be known that you’re with me in this, with me and your people? Are you traveling with us or not? How else will we know that we’re special, I and your people, among all other people on this planet Earth?”

God said to Moses: “All right. Just as you say; this also I will do, for I know you well and you are special to me. I know you by name.”

There are so many awesome verses in this chapter.  They encourage me when I start thinking I am on my own.  When I read them, it reminds me that God knows me, I am special to Him, and He will see me through to the end of my journey!  I want to share one more verse.  Close to my all time favorite passage.  Makes me tear up every time I read it or even think about it….

Deuteronomy 34:5-6

The Message

 Moses died there in the land of Moab, Moses the servant of God, just as God said. God buried him in the valley in the land of Moab opposite Beth Peor. No one knows his burial site to this very day.

Did you catch that?  God, yes God, buried Moses.  God did what He promised, God said, “My presence will go with you. I’ll see the journey to the end.” This makes my heart sing.  This makes my heart rejoice, with hope, lots of hope!

8 thoughts on “God’s friend Moses

  1. Rhonda Sittig November 11, 2012 / 7:24

    I love that– seeing you to the journeys end. thanks.

  2. Liana November 12, 2012 / 7:24

    Thank you for this!

  3. missannsays November 12, 2012 / 7:24

    Thank you for this reminder that God goes with us. I needed that today 🙂

  4. icanseealight November 16, 2012 / 7:24

    Wow, that made me tear up, too. Beautiful reminder that God is with us!

  5. Planting Potatoes November 21, 2012 / 7:24

    very encouraging words indeed, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

