Psalm 121


DSCN5537

Psalm 121 has been a special Psalm to me since I became a Christian many years ago.  When I am discouraged or sad, someone sends me that passage, or it is in a book or devotional I am reading.  Years ago my dear mother-in-law passed away.  She planned her own funeral, so every aspect was done for us.  The only sad part is the minister who did the ceremony didn’t know her personally.  I was having a very lonely moment at her funeral until the Bible reading occurred.  The minister read Psalm 121 and it was God’s way of reminding me that although my mother-in-law planned her funeral, He really ordered her steps and was in control of everything.  It was a precious moment in a difficult time.

Another time that Psalm 121 was special was before I overcame my fear of heights.  Our family went on a tour of the Holy Land.  We had a chance to go to Masada.  There were two ways to get to the top.  One was to walk and it was too hot for me to choose that route.  The other way was a cable car, and that terrorized me.  I went up with a friend and she could tell I was scared.  She said she would sing me a song to help me overcome my fear.  She sang Psalm 121.  I later found out that Psalm 121 is one of 15 songs of ascent.  I could easily go on that cable car ride today, because God has healed my fear.  Please read this wonderful Psalm and know that He loves you and He is willing to help you!

Psalm 121 (KJV) 

I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.

My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth.

He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber.

 Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.

The Lord is thy keeper: the Lord is thy shade upon thy right hand.

The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night.

The Lord shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul.

The Lord shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore

5 thoughts on “Psalm 121

  1. hollybristol January 16, 2013 / 7:24

    Someday I’ll tell you my story about Ps 121… Thank you for reminding ME!

  2. karenworth January 16, 2013 / 7:24

    I have loads of them! I have lived 121 for 40 years :0) It is my Psalm above all Psalms! Can’t wait to hear your story!

  3. icanseealight March 14, 2013 / 7:24

    Hope everything is going ok…noticed you haven’t posted for a while! Not that I have, either, but just wondering!

Leave a Reply

