Beauty for Ashes


I wanted to share the story of loosing my little brother.  Please pray for the Warren family during this time of grief and loss! Prayer really helps!

In 1985 my youngest brother was 27 years old.  On February 28th of that year, he took a gun from my parent’s home and walked a few blocks, sat under a tree and took his life.  It was four years later before his body was discovered.  He was in a wooded secluded area.  That was a very hard time for my whole family.  We had nothing to warn us that he was unhappy or going through some hard times.  Those four years were some of the hardest I ever faced!  Before I knew officially he was dead, I was really hurting.  I told Jim that I felt like an eighteen wheeler had driven through my heart.  I went to a revival at our church and when some friends were at the altar praying for their son, I quietly knelt behind them, put out my hand to touch them and prayed.  When I stood up, I realized that God had healed my heart, the big hole was gone.  I was afraid to tell anyone, because I thought if I did, the hole in my heart might return.  In my quiet time during that period, I read about David and Goliath.  I realized that my brother’s death was a giant in my life.  Before David fought the giant, he fought bears and lions.  God reminded me of the bears and lions I had fought, and gave me courage to face the giant of my brother’s suicide.  David defeated Goliath because he did it in the power of the Lord.  God helped me fight my giant and my relationship with Him really grew.  Now when I think of my brother, I really try to focus on happy memories.  He was a very wonderful man. His name was Wade Taylor.  Suicide is never a solution.  Please get help if you ever feel like life isn’t worth living.  No matter how bad things seem, they will improve!  This is the national suicide hotline: 1-800-273-8255.  God bless each of you.  I pray the Lord will help each you who are facing a giant.

7 thoughts on “Beauty for Ashes

  1. greenlightlady April 9, 2013 / 7:24

    Bless you for sharing this personal testimony, Karen. I’ve lost a couple of relatives to suicide, and God was there to heal the hole. Your words will help others go through this very dark and painful valley.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  2. Twyla April 9, 2013 / 7:24

    Such a tragic loss. I know this must have brought up painful memories for you. Thanks for sharing and I’m so glad God comforted you as I pray He will for the Warrens.

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. jimwking April 9, 2013 / 7:24

    Well said. Blessings. J.

    Sent from my iPad

  4. icanseealight April 9, 2013 / 7:24

    Thank you for sharing this story…I’m sure it was not easy to write. Thank you also for being a caring voice for those whose lives have been affected by mental illness. I just wanted to say I’ve experienced depression in the past and it can and will get better with treatment. There is light at the end of the tunnel, even if you can’t see it now. This is a subject I’ve danced around but never mentioned on my blog, but this post has inspired me to fight that giant called fear…maybe it’s high time to discuss it!

    • karenworth April 9, 2013 / 7:24

      The more we expose it to the Light, they more people realize they are not alone!

  5. Patty B April 10, 2013 / 7:24

    I am so sorry for the pain you went through – thank you for speaking of this difficult subject, but I agree that the more we speak of it the more people will realize they are not alone and seek help. We should all reach out a hand to those that may be hurting. Hugs…

Leave a Reply

