Slower


DSCN7887

I read two devotionals each day as I spend time with God.  The one I read first is One Thousand Gifts Devotional by Ann Voskamp.  I just started it and it is rich and reminds me to count my blessings.  The other day I read about a time they were shucking corn and preparing it for the freezer.  Each person had a job.  The person removing the silks was working too fast and leaving too much silk on the ear.  The child cutting off the corn complained and the father reminded the silk remover to slow down.

corn

I took a deep breath and thought about slowing down and how hard that is.  The next book I read is Jesus Calling by Sarah Young.   When I opened the reading for that day, I read this..”Time with me cannot be rushed.”  I think He was trying His hardest to tell me something don’t you?  Wish I could say I have listened!  I am however more mindful of trying to focus and spend quality time with Him.  I am a little slower than I was, but not as slow as I need to be.  I watch the turtles I feed circle in their turtle patterns in the pond.  They glide along popping their heads up and checking to see if I really have food for them.  When they recognize me they stop and get real close, so the fish wouldn’t gobble up the turtle food too fast.  I love spending these moments with these creatures.  I am certain God enjoys spending time with me too.  Ann Voskamp says that “Now could be an altar.”  I have to slow down enough, to bow down long enough, to hear the whisper of God. It is worth it ever time I do!

DSCN7611

One thought on “Slower

  1. greenlightlady May 20, 2013 / 7:24

    Beautiful analogies you’ve made and pointed out to us. Yes, we need to slow down…

    Blessings ~ Wendy

Leave a Reply

