Settle Down


Rainbow at the beginning of our walk.

While reading my Bible this morning, I found a phrase in a verse that jumped out at me.  When I taught first grade and it was time for a lesson to start, I would say, “Settle down”.  I found this phrase in this passage and it made me really think about what it was saying to me.  When I get in a hurry and run around like mad, I don’t get anything accomplished.  When I slow down and listen, and become dependent on Him, things are much easier!  The children in my class who learned, were the ones who would settle down.  That is what I want to do this day!

Isaiah 30:15 The Message

God, the Master, The Holy of Israel, has this solemn counsel: “Your salvation requires you to turn back to me and stop your silly efforts to save yourselves. Your strength will come from settling down in complete dependence on me—

The practical ways I am settling is thanking him for my blessings.  Just sitting and listening to the still small voice that whispers truths to my heart.  Dropping the worries as I walk toward my day.  They are too heavy to tote around all day.  And smiling, don’t forget smiling!  Now go settle yourself my friend!

9 thoughts on “Settle Down

  1. Jody Becker August 8, 2013 / 7:24

    So true, dear friend! I will learn from your wisdom and remind myself to “settle down” and WAIT for my dear Lord!

  2. jimwking August 8, 2013 / 7:24

    This is a super good meditation, Karen. Thanks.

    Sent from my iPad

  3. icanseealight August 8, 2013 / 7:24

    Whoa! Love the new theme and rainbow! Your post made me think of Psalm 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God.” Great reminder…

  4. karenworth August 8, 2013 / 7:24

    The theme changes with the colors in the photo I choose. I just love it!
    Thanks for the comments! :0)

  5. Connie August 9, 2013 / 7:24

    What arresting words! Thanks. Connie

  6. Bev August 9, 2013 / 7:24

    🙂
    smiling today and as always giving God the glory!!

  7. Becky August 9, 2013 / 7:24

    Smiling is always a good thing to do and to pass on to others! Thanks for sharing these great words of encouragement! Hope you have a wonderful week-end my friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

