So where you from friend????


I subscribe to Ann Voskamp’s blog, A Holy Experiencehttp://www.aholyexperience.com/ I highly recommend it.  She wrote the book A Thousand Gifts.  Some time back she wrote a blog called, “so…where you from, friend?”  It was so wonderful.  I decided to write my own version of the question.  In no way do I think it is as good as her’s!

So here goes….

So where you from friend?

I’m from two inches of dirt and miles of rock.

DSCN0967

I’m from the sweet smell of Mountain Laurel  and the my heart catches in my throat, fields of bluebonnets.

DSCN7562

I’m from a church where Grace and love flow like a river and I have jumped into the deep end and found out I didn’t sink!

I’m from reaching out at meal times and feeling the same hand in mine, I have held for grace for forty years.

birthday

I grew up in a house of fear, but God’s love has built me a HOME of freedom and Grace.

I am from second chances and even third and fourth….as far as the East is from the West.

I’m from too many sets of dishes and not enough chances to fill them with yummy food and laugh with my friends.

I’m from birds fighting over the bird feeder and singing melodious tunes in the early morning hour when I need encouragement for the new day ahead.

I’m from the cleft of the rock right next to the Old Rugged Cross, sitting as close to Jesus as my Yorkie sits next to me on the couch.

I’m from I didn’t think it would be this wonderful when I was a girl.  I wish I had know….it was a marvelous surprise!

I’m from…you shall know the Truth and the Truth will set you FREE!

so tell me….where you from friend? Please tell me, I really want to know!

5 thoughts on “So where you from friend????

  1. Vanessa August 20, 2013 / 7:24

    Very nice! When fear disappears and Love replaces it, that relationship with God drastically changes. 🙂

  2. karenworth August 20, 2013 / 7:24

    Vanessa
    Awesome place to be from my friend! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Becky August 20, 2013 / 7:24

    That was excellent! I have read her book, and found it to be very good, I might even say, life changing! She is a very gifted writer, but so are you! Congratulations on 40 years of holding the same hand. I loved that line 🙂

  4. Jody August 23, 2013 / 7:24

    Love this post, friend! Love the paradigm 🙂

Leave a Reply

