Hey Diddle Diddle


I am posting a “poem” I wrote over 30 years ago.  Many mothers sent their little ones off to their first day of school today. Others sent their precious children off to college.  The days are long, but the years are fast.  Don’t waste them.  Trust God with them.  I am saying this to my heart as well as to yours!

Hey Diddle Diddle

As wrists become thin

And chubby fingers knobby

Little hand

Don’t let go just yet.

Sit beside me

We’ll sing “Hey Diddle Diddle”

And you will be all mine, just a little longer.

Mother heart,

Listen to the Lord

And He will teach you

When to hold on

And when to release them

To jump over their own moons.

Oh Lord gives these moms the grace to not only allow their children to grow up, but help them grow in you.  Give them wisdom and joy in their labors which seem endless now, but it is a season that will pass way too fast.  Help them to cherish the precious moments.  Amen and Amen!

*Hey Diddle Diddle is a nursery rhyme.

3 thoughts on “Hey Diddle Diddle

  1. farfetchedfriends August 26, 2013 / 7:24

    I always wonder how my mom must feel to have an almost knobby child. As my own kids get older, wondering how my mom must feel to have a kid walking around as old as me must be. Hehehe.
    Great poem!

    • karenworth August 26, 2013 / 7:24

      Being a mother made me value my mom a bunch more than I did before!
      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Victoria August 26, 2013 / 7:24

    How quickly those times slip away!

Leave a Reply

