The rain falls on the just and the unjust…


Some time back we got a much-needed rain.  I loved every drop.  I was talking to a friend on the phone when “CRACK’ a huge bolt of lightning hit very close.  I told her it was time to stop chatting!  Two circuit breakers popped in the house.  I knew it had to have hit near by.  The next day Jim brought in a big strip of bark.  It seems the oak tree about 100 yards from our deck was the object of the lightning strike.  It made a spiral pattern around the tree and stripped the bark off that tree.  The next morning Jim asked me to come see something in the woods. The rain had caused hundreds of little white flowers to pop up.  We have a field full of them.  With that rain, good things happened and not so good things happened too.  That is life. We accept good and bad as just living.  God is still good when lightning hits us and God is still good when our lives blossom after a refreshing rain.  I need to learn to praise Him in the good times and the not so good times.

10 thoughts on “The rain falls on the just and the unjust…

  1. Bev September 8, 2013 / 7:24

    don’t you love it when God gives you such visual spiritual lessons!
    good word and a needed reminder!

  2. karenworth September 8, 2013 / 7:24

    This one was pretty exciting! Crack!!!!!!!!!

  3. Jody Becker September 8, 2013 / 7:24

    Amen, sister! Just as He rains on the just and the unjust, we have to understand the good and not so good in our lives are Gods provision for us, designed to make us seek Him more!

  4. farfetchedfriends September 8, 2013 / 7:24

    Glad you were safe!
    We get lightning storms here all the time so I completely understand.
    Yes, God is good!

  5. karenworth September 8, 2013 / 7:24

    Thanks! We haven’t had much rain lately because Texas is in the middle of a huge drought!

  6. the blogging disciple September 8, 2013 / 7:24

    Grateful you and your family are safe and your property is sound. Peace! 🙂 Beth

  7. churchbus71andetc September 8, 2013 / 7:24

    I really liked this:) thanx for sharing and I shared this on my facebook and also wordpress

  8. Becky September 10, 2013 / 7:24

    Beautiful photos, beautiful blog, beautiful person! Thank you for sharing from your heart! 🙂 I really enjoy your blog, and I just wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award – You are a source of inspiration to me in this blogging world. Thank you and have fun!
    http://blessingsthruraindrops.com/2013/09/10/and-the-nominations-are/

  9. karenworth September 10, 2013 / 7:24

    Thank you kindly Becky. I don’t accept awards, but it was so sweet of you to nominate me! :0)
    Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

