Filling the empty spaces


RSCN0452

Is it just me, or do we often try to fill the voids in our life with things?  Too quiet, turn on the television or music. Feeling empty, eat some ice cream, go shopping.  Neither television or ice cream help! In fact they can do the opposite!  When we ask Jesus into our life to be our Savior, He comes into our heart.  He lives in us.  We are His dwelling place.  When I have guests, I don’t always allow them full access to every part of my home.  I have some drawers and closets that I would rather no one see…ever!  Jesus doesn’t march into our lives and demand that we give Him our whole life.  He waits patiently until we realize that giving Him control sets us free!  Instead of filling in the voids with things, I want to give Jesus all the nooks and crannies in every part of me.  It sounds simple, but it is a life long challenge!  A challenge worth pursuing!  I’m Your’s Lord Jesus!

bluebird

Romans 12:1-2

Place Your Life Before God

 So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.

One thought on “Filling the empty spaces

  1. farfetchedfriends September 10, 2013 / 7:24

    Good one!
    I have company coming in today and I am keeping them out of the master bathroom. Hehehehe.
    But yes, I learned a lesson in being okay with no busyness over the summer. I had two weeks without kids. The first two days were tough but after that, I thoroughly enjoyed NO noise in the house.
    Well, except the dog, and he’s pretty much a mute.
    Have a great Tuesday! Good blog!

Leave a Reply

