Happy birthday Johnny Appleseed!


When I taught school I always had a week of celebrating apples and Johnny Appleseed.  We made apple prints, tasted countless varieties of apples, cooked home made apple sauce, and sang a blessing about Johnny Appleseed.  This is what we sang:

Oh the Lord is good to me

And so I thank the Lord,

For giving me, the things I need

Like the sun and the rain and the appleseed

Oh the Lord is good to me. Amen

My first graders loved that song and we sang it often throughout the school year to bless our snacks and lunch. Today is officially Johnny Appleseed’s birthday.  I attached a video with the little song we used to sing. I hope you will do some research on his life.  He was important to our country, and without him, I do not think apples would be as plentiful as they are today.  That would be a sad thing.  Happy birthday Johhny Appleseed!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V_IrdS-zu48

2 thoughts on “Happy birthday Johnny Appleseed!

  1. farfetchedfriends September 26, 2013 / 7:24

    You just took me back to first grade, Karen! I lived in Indiana at the time and fall was a big deal there.
    I could eat apples all.day.long so I am grateful for Johnny!
    Have a great Thursday!
    Vanessa

  2. karenworth September 26, 2013 / 7:24

    Thank Vanessa! I envy living where apples grew so readily. Great memory! :0)

Leave a Reply

