Chalk


This story happened years ago, but my love for my husband remains strong and true.  Today we celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary.  40 years of true love!  I love to remember this day when my young husband expressed his love for me in a memorable way.  Here it is:

I walked out the front door to take Dawn to school, and etched on the sidewalk in chalk, Jim had lovingly written, JNW loves KTW in the center of a huge heart with an arrow through it.  Well it just sent me into orbit and back again.  What a neat surprise!

As I looked closer, I noticed the chalk was left on the sidewalk as if waiting for some response.  I picked it up and wrote DITTO, dotting the “I” with a heart, and put an exclamation point on the end.

Jim, thank you for 40 years!  Thank you for all the times you have supported me and thank you for the encouragement I needed to be ME!  Because of you my faith in God is deeper and stronger than it would have been alone!  I was lonely before YOU! Now I am the happiest woman I know!  I love you forever!  Karen

birthday

7 thoughts on “Chalk

  1. Twyla September 28, 2013 / 7:24

    Happy Anniversary!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. greenlightlady September 28, 2013 / 7:24

    Congratulations! I love hearing about happy endings/beginnings. 🙂

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  3. beegee10 September 28, 2013 / 7:24

    Congratulations!!!! and Happy Anniversary to you two! 🙂

    God is the author of your love story!!

  4. Steve September 28, 2013 / 7:24

    Happy Anniversary!

  5. farfetchedfriends September 28, 2013 / 7:24

    Happy Anniversary!
    (Hey! You’ve been married exactly as long as I’ve been alive. That is terrific!)

  6. karenworth September 29, 2013 / 7:24

    We have been married 40 years because we are old people! LOL!

  7. Becky October 9, 2013 / 7:24

    Congratulations! 40 years is a great milestone and achievement – I’m so happy for you and your husband! It really makes me so happy when I hear about a great marriage. We’re right behind you – just celebrated our 33rd…looking forward to many more! I LOVE the chalk idea – I might just have to try that out one of these days! 🙂
    The photo you posted is really cute too!

Leave a Reply

