Whistle me home


For years I have wondered how Jesus found me.  I was looking for Him, but like a person without a map I was lost.  One day while reading some verses I found this passage:

Isaiah 5:26  “He lifts up a banner for the distant nations, he whistles for those at the ends of the earth…” NIV

The reason this verse is significant is this, my dad used to call us home at night with a whistle so loud and distinctive, that even all these years later, when I hear one close to his, I jump and look for him.  My dad was also really good at whistling tunes.  He usually came home whistling a lovely song each evening.  I thought he was the best whistler in the world.  I held that belief until July of 1972.  You see Jesus whistled to me and I answered that call.  I was lost and He showed me the way home.  Now I love to listen to His melodies that He whistles just for me.  They are so sweet and personal, so loving and true.  It is hard for me to understand why the whole world can’t hear Him.  Why aren’t they listening for His call?  The next time you are alone in a quiet place, stop and listen for a while.  I think you might be surprised that he is whistling for you.  Just like when I was a kid, Dad’s whistle meant “come home”! God’s whistle means the same thing….It’s time to come home my child!  I’m waiting for you!  Come home! I hope your response is, “I’m coming Dad!”

2 thoughts on “Whistle me home

  1. jimwking October 11, 2013 / 7:24

    Good. Thanks.

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

