Long-suffering


RSCN0498

This is not a word I have in my vocabulary on a day to day basis!  Patience maybe, but long-suffering, not so much!  As I have been studying Gideon for a Bible study I attend, the author of the study talked at length about God’s long-suffering with Gideon.  If I was God and Gideon had tried that fleece thing with me three times, I would have chosen a new leader! I would have, but thankfully I am not God.  As I read about many men and women in the Bible, I find God’s patience was extremely bountiful!  When I taught school I used the phrase, “Slow obey is No obey” a thousand times at least!

I am so thankful that God has mercy and grace enough for the times I don’t believe and the times I disobey!  I want to be more long-suffering with those I get irritated with.  The guy who cuts me off in traffic, the customer service rep who doesn’t really help me, etc.!  Thank you Lord for being long-suffering with me!

Matthew 5:5

Amplified Bible (AMP)

 Blessed (happy, blithesome, joyous, spiritually prosperous—with life-joy and satisfaction in God’s favor and salvation, regardless of their outward conditions) are the meek (the mild, patient, long-suffering), for they shall inherit the earth!

One thought on “Long-suffering

Leave a Reply

