Holy, Holy, Holy


 

waves

At church this past Sunday the worship team ended worship with this hymn.  I love singing praises and hymns.  I try my best to focus on the lyrics and sing them to the Lord.  While singing this verse I had some thoughts pop into my head.

Holy, holy, holy!  Lord God Almighty!
Early in the morning our song shall rise to thee.
Holy, holy, holy!  Merciful and mighty,
God in three persons, blessed Trinity!

I had this question, does it say Holy three times in Isaiah 6:3 and this hymn for the Godhead three in one?

God the Father

God the Son

God the Holy Spirit

I know that when I see words repeated in Scripture they have importance.  God doesn’t waste words, each matters.  But three times is like super important.

I don’t know the answer to my question, but I think it might be yes!  In the throne room we will worship all Three!  So yesterday I did try my best to honor them with my song.

Here is a link to this hymn.  Sing it out to the Holy God of heaven and earth before the rocks have to cry out!

3 thoughts on “Holy, Holy, Holy

  1. jimwking June 16, 2014 / 7:24

    Excellent post. I still love this “Holy” hymn, esp. when the instrument (organ or piano) is assists, with gusto. Yes, words are important.

  2. johnmarkmiller June 16, 2014 / 7:24

    Great thoughts on one of the greatest hymns! Thanks for your post!

Leave a Reply

