Joyful in Hope


cropped-rscn0452.jpg

This morning I grabbed my breakfast and sat on the deck and spent time with Jesus.  I read the devotional for today in Jesus Calling by Sarah Young.  It spoke about hope.  Hope has been weak in my life for a few years now.  Due to lots of trials and hard times, my hope has suffered.  That is my fault, not Jesus’.  We have a pond up the street that is actually three ponds, filled with fish and turtles and lovely vegetation.  The lily pads were extra wonderful this year, until some middle school aged boys decided to demolish them with sharp sticks.

messed up

These boys would try to kill the fish, turtles, and broke trees for branches and tore up beautiful plants.  We had a meeting as a neighborhood and decided to put up a sign and keep an eye out for these boys.

sign

This pond is special to me because when I have lacked hope and have been down, I would go and sit and breath.  I fed the turtles and poured my heart out to the Lord.  It is holy to me. I am happy to say our pond is once more thriving and healing.  These were the lily pads today when I went there.

water fall lily pad

In the past few months the Lord has been rebuilding the walls of my life that were damaged.  First He rebuilt Peace, then Grace, and now Hope.  Today the verse was:

 Romans 12:2 Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.

This hymn came to my mind as I read verses on hope;

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand

When we went to church, guess what song we sang today!  Rarely do we sing hymns, it is more likely that we sing praise songs, so this was very special.  I was over whelmed.  My Hope is in Christ.  I am joyful in my HOPE!  Just like the pond, I am being restored and revived.  If you have lost hope, ask Him to give you Scripture to encourage your heart.  He is faithful!  He will do it for you.  I know, because He continues to do it for me.

2 thoughts on “Joyful in Hope

  1. jimwking July 27, 2014 / 7:24

    Good one , Karen. Hope!

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

