Building blocks


DSCN4181

I guess you could call me a slow learner Christian.  Seems like I am always having to relearn things I should know all the time.  After some challenging years dealing with my elderly parents and other hard trials, I went to the Bible to find some encouragement and healing.  The first precept I studied was PEACE.  The rich wonderful Scripture I found about peace really refreshed me.  I wrote each verse down in a small notebook and read them over and over throughout the day.

The next precept I studied was GRACE!  I used God’s Word but also read a bunch of books by Max Lucado.  He writes beautifully about GRACE.  I again wrote my verses in my notebook and reviewed them along with the PEACE verses.  Really encouraging to ponder GRACE!  Grace and Peace go hand in hand.

The next precept in my pilgrimage was HOPE!  When I read about HOPE, GRACE and PEACE were already so rooted in my heart and mind that HOPE was the missing piece I needed to really move forward.  And like with PEACE and GRACE, I added HOPE to my notebook.  I read the verses to the turtles and fish at the pond.  I read them to the birds and flowers on the deck.  I read them and read them and read them.  Ahhhhh!  I Exhaled JOY!

RSCN0450

DSCN0435

Imagine my surprise when I found this verse the other day.  It put all three precepts in order as I had studied them.  I was hopping and dancing all at the same time!

Romans 5:1-2 NIV

Since we have been justified through faith, we have PEACE with God through our Lord Jesus Christ through whom we have gained access by faith into this GRACE in which we stand.  And we rejoice in the HOPE of the glory of God!

My pilgrimage is far from over, but I have a firmer foundation to build upon.  PEACE, GRACE, and HOPE along with Jesus the Cornerstone have helped in the building process.  Never give up on reading God’s Word.  It is the key to getting you through all the storms and trials you face.  Blessings to each of you!

One thought on “Building blocks

  1. Debbie August 9, 2014 / 7:24

    What a beautiful encouragement to keep seeking Him in His word! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

