Greater Joy


 

beach 2014

 

I tried to cling to it

Keep it tucked in my

Pockets.

It dissipated

Like manna in the desert.

Needed fresh every day.

Joy.

I found it in pinkies held out,

Silly laughing tea parties.

Sea glass exchanged on a

Rocky shore.

Faces close in deep

Conversations,

Secrets, hopes shared.

I found the

Greater JOY!

It was closer

More abundant

Than I ever imagined.

It filled up more

Than my pockets.

So much more.

I found it in the numbering

The numbering of JOYS!

tea with Lu

 

6 thoughts on “Greater Joy

  1. Twyla September 4, 2014 / 7:24

    Love this, K. Precious

    • karenworth September 6, 2014 / 7:24

      Thanks, I haven’t written poetry in eons! Thanks for the encouragement. I love all your posts. Wish our dogs could meet! :0)

      • farfetchedfriends September 6, 2014 / 7:24

        That would be nice. I can’t remember where you are – Kansas?

  2. karenworth September 6, 2014 / 7:24

    No sadly we are in hot humid Texas!

Leave a Reply

