Hold on to what is good


cupped hands 2

 

I am in a Beth Moore Bible study on Thessalonians.  It’s a great study so when I read these words they peaked my interest, since I am studying these books of the Bible.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-22 NIV

 Rejoice always,  pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

 Do not quench the Spirit.  Do not treat prophecies with contempt but test them all; hold on to what is good,  reject every kind of evil.

The words HOLD ON TO WHAT IS GOOD, might as well have been on fire.  They touched my heart and mind.  I realized I needed to apply this concept, to literally hold on to good, with my heart, my mind, my hands, with clenched teeth, by whatever means necessary!  If I hold on to good, I can’t hold on to bad, it is just that simple.  I won’t be able to complain, grumble, worry, or just be plain old ugly. I am still processing this concept, so bear with me if you don’t see application as quickly as you think it should happen.  I anticipate bad so much of my life.  I always expect the outcome to be less than I wanted.  I am a “glass half empty”, married to a “glass half full” husband, with a “glass completely full” God.  I am a slow learner, spoiled rotten, rebellious woman. But with God’s help, I hope to seek and expect good more!   I want to trust Him.  I want to rejoice and thank Him for all He is doing and continues to do.  I want it to soak into my pores and become a part of my being from top to bottom.  How do you hold on to good?  Please share your thoughts with me.  I look forward to your ideas! Maybe we can challenge each other to do this more!

One thought on “Hold on to what is good

  1. Patty October 10, 2014 / 7:24

    prayer – He always listens – lets me talk it out and then answers. Only it is up to me to listen – some days this ole Irish head of mine is too thick! But thankful He is a patient God!

Leave a Reply

