A-Z


cropped-crafting.jpg

While reading a book on prayer by Max Lucado called, Before Amen, he used the alphabet to list 26 things he was thankful for.  Since I am a retired 1st grade teacher who used the alphabet quite a bit in my career, this exercise sounded fun.  I tried to stay away from being thankful for my family, but I couldn’t.  They are just too important to not count. So here goes, my alphabet thankful list!  Hope you try this exercise too.  Good prep for Thanksgiving!

A…..Andi my youngest daughter, a beautiful gift from God. She is an amazing woman, wife, and dog lover.  I admire her so much!

B…..books, not necessarily e-books, but real, hold in your hand, book smell books!  Lots and lots of books!

C…..Copic markers.  I recently discovered  these lovely blend able markers!   They come in oodles of colors.  JOY!

D…..my oldest daughter Dawn.  I named her when I was a child and she has been one of God’s best gifts to my life! She is the best mother I have ever seen.

E…..Elementary, one of the few television shows we enjoy.  The new season is about to start!  YES!

F…..fall, my favorite season, although here in Texas it might feel like a lesser summer!  I still love it!

G…..Girls, I love all the girls in my life, Dawn, Andi, Lucy, Susan, Libby, my MOPS girls, my Bible study girls, just all the wonderful girls in my life!  Love them so much!

H…..home, I love my home wherever it may be.  I always like being at home!

I…..iced tea, sweet and strong, all day long!

J…..Jim my knight and partner for 41 years and counting.  He is awesome!

K…..kitchen, just love this room.  It is full of dishes, and pots, and recipes, it is so much a part of the fabric of me!

L…..Lucy my one and only granddaughter.  She amazes me all the time with her intelligence and gifts, and the joy she gladly brings to our family! Also Libby, my girl Yorkie who overcame a traumatic brain injury and taught us how to hope!

M…..macaroni and cheese, the perfect food besides a soft fried egg on toast.  Yum!

N…..Next Issue, an on-line magazine app where I get all the magazines I could ever want for one monthly fee.  Love this!

O…..stands for HUGS when you put it at the end of a note or letter.  O

P…..Pond, the place where He restores my soul.  My happy place!

Q…..quilts to curl up in on cool nights.  Love the look and feel of quilts!

R…..Rhythms of Grace, my blog where I get to be me and share HIM!

S…..Susan, my BFF for 37 years.  She keeps me centered!

T…..turtles, my favorite critter besides dogs.  I have lots of turtle buddies!

U…..unique, that is what I am, unique.  Never try to put a label on me, I will change before you can even think of the label.

V…..Voskamp, Ann Voskamp the author of 1,000 gifts continues to challenge me to be thankful!

W…..Worthy, I serve a worthy God.  He redeemed my life.  Only He is Worthy!

X…..X stands for kisses, just like O stands for hugs.  :0)

Y…..Yorkies, I have two and they give us more joy than you could ever imagine!

Z…..Zeke my favorite boy dog.  He loves me unconditionally and teaches me how to slow down and smell the roses!

Thank you Lord for all the blessings I have written about, but I have too many to count thanks to you!  I count you as the most important blessing in my life!

 

 

6 thoughts on “A-Z

  1. johnmarkmiller October 27, 2014 / 7:24

    This is a great idea… I might do this with our family for the month of Thanksgiving, and do one letter each night during our family Bible Time. Thanks so much for sharing this!

  2. karenworth October 27, 2014 / 7:24

    If I had young kids at home that would be fun to do! Thanks for commenting!

  3. jimwking October 27, 2014 / 7:24

    Excellent, excellent–thanks. J.

  4. Becky November 12, 2014 / 7:24

    This was BEAUTIFUL! I loved it! What a great expression of the things that you are thankful for, as well as a little insight into who you are as a person! Thank you so much for sharing a little bit of you with us! 🙂

Leave a Reply

